My First Solo Trip: Jeju Island

Jeju Island, South Korea
May 14 – 18, 2015

My solo trip to Jeju Island actually happen because I made an impulsive move in getting tickets just few days before the trip. Thanks to the ability of technology, I managed to settle everything from flight tickets to guesthouses in an instant.

I travelled around the island mainly via public busses. It was all I could manage without a driver’s license, but it was still wonderful. Also, I manage in taking a boat to a sub-island named 우도 (Udo Island), and cycled my way around half of the island, while people with driver’s license was on motorbikes or in cars.

Everyone should give solo trips a try. It’s worth it. For the first time in my life, I felt free and happy. The feeling of freedom and independence was clutched in my own hands, trembling with vulnerability, yet filled with earnest curiosity. I believe it was the best birthday present I could ever gift myself, because it was such a meaningful experience.

I did not tell many of my friends about this trip beforehand. When I returned, I only got comments like “woah you’re crazy” or “wow………. amazing! how did you…” etc. But it was more than crazy, more than just amazing. (And I told my mum about it, who I thought would have told my dad but she did not, and my dad got kind of… shocked when I called back home in the middle of the trip)

I’ll be sharing trip details on a day to day basis with pictures. Do keep a lookout in the next few posts over the next few days! (I have too much content;;)

One thought on “My First Solo Trip: Jeju Island

Leave a Reply

